You are here: Home Artists AREAN Biography


The history of the members of the group Arean goes back many years. Eight years ago Borja Estankona, Koldo de Miguel and Iñaki Garrido began playing together under the name Iniezione, and since that time, they have gradually grown, changed and evolved during the course of a healthy and interesting career that has culminated now in this first album published by Gaztelupeko Hotsak.

Iniezione only gave two public performances, but during this era the foundations of what is now Arean were laid. The temporary absence of Koldo de Miguel brought about a change of attitude and it was during this time that the guitar player Borja Estankona began to compose new tracks, the tracks that form the basis of this album.

The album was recorded live in the ‘Sonora’ studio in Vitoria, with Iñaki Alonso as technician. The subsequent mastering was carried out by Karlos Osinaga. The CD encompasses nine songs, enveloped and inspired in the exuberant drawings of Maite Telleria. Drums (Koldo), electric bass (Iñaki), guitar and vocals (Borja). The use of these four basic elements is in itself a declaration of principles. It reminds us that the original magic of music lies in its simplicity, not in special effects. The group offers moments of different rhythm and intensity. Note that their repertoire of songs is openly built on the cornerstone of rock. Some of the tracks are hermetic, while others verge on the minimalist and on silence. The emotions conveyed are unique and diverse, and all the album’s tracks are wide open to them. The songs follow on from each other in a coherent manner, one after the other, making the listening experience an extremely natural process which fulfils all expectations.